Rock’n’Roll Madrid Marathon

if-you-run-you-are-a-runner

So I guess I’m a runner. Or maybe I’m not anymore, considering that since I moved to Dubai I ran only 5-6 times probably.
Last week I was in Madrid for the Madrid Marathon. It was my first race abroad, and my most difficult to date. There was a fight in my head starting with km 13. Something like: stop just for 1 min, run, walk, I CAN do this! The profile of the race was very hilly and the finish was in uphill…maybe they wanted to kill us. 😀

I have to admit that I didn’t really train for this race. My longest run was a 7k in a parking lot where I live. And I haven’t been to the gym for the last 4 months. Considering all this, I can say this half marathon is one of my biggest achievements to date and the medal will be one that I will cherish the most.madrid marathon

During the run I was trying to sum up what I feel about the race and about this challenge and this is what I came up with. I posted this on my Facebook immediately when I got home that day.  🙂

3 degrees C at the start+wind+all those hills+almost zero training=Madrid, you almost killed me today!!! I guess we really don’t know what our limits are until we are being forced to push them. Gracias, Madrid! WE did it!!! 🙂 :

the medal

 

 

photo source: https://www.facebook.com/RnRMadrid?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rock’n’Roll Madrid Marathon

  1. baggie901 says:

    The medal surely won’t get lost in the drawer with the others; it is quite memorable!

  2. Alice says:

    It is indeed! And very heavy also. 😀
    Good luck with your Ironman! How’s the training going? 🙂

Leave a Reply

